Visitors' Online Guide to Kanchipuram

Kamakshi Devi

This guide aims to help you plan and visit Kanchipuram. Visit the links above for details.

Kanchipuram is the city of thousand temples . Every road in this city located in Tamilnadu is studded with temples, making it world-renowned since time immemorial. The famous Sanskrit poet Kalidasa refers to this city as Nagareshu Kanchi which means the best among cities. Kanchi is also world-famous as a centre of learning.

It is one of the Sapta Mokshapuris - the seven divine cities that help us attain salvation, , and the only Mokshapuri in South India.
अयोध्या मथुरा माया काशी काञ्ची अवन्तिका ।अयोध्या मथुरा माया काशी काञ्ची अवन्तिका ।
पुरी द्वारावती चैव सप्तैते मोक्षदायकाः ॥
Ayodhyaa Mathuraa Maayaa Kaashii Kaan.cii Avantikaa |
Purii Dvaaraavatii Caiva Saptaite Mokssa-Daayakaah ||
Kanchipuram is one of the 51 Shakti Peethas - the divine abode of the Goddess. Goddess Kamakshi is in a sitting posture resembling a Lotus, and hence called the Padmasana.

Names of Kanchi

Kanchi is celebrated by different names: Satyavrata kshetra, Bhaskara kshetra; Taijasa kshetra; Harihara kshetra; Sakti kshetra; Mahapunyaprada kshetra; Kailasa; Vaikuntha; Sripuram.
Satyavrata Kshetra: Primacy to the glory of Sakti; Aspects of Sakti’s glory are visible; Evokes the presence of Siva; Seat of Vishnu, who is another form of Sakti; imperishable; surrounded by the wise and virtuous.
Bhaskara Kshetra: Surrounded by excellent hills, rivers and temples.
Taijasa Kshetra: Surrounded by Mahabilam (Great Cave), Maha Vriksham (Great Tree), Punyakoti Vimana.
Harihara Kshetra: Kshetra of Sakti (Hari) and Siva (Hara).
Sakti Kshetra: Mahadevi, Chit Sakti (Power of Consciousness) is in:
Saguna (with attributes) form as Sakti (Kamakshi) and Vishnu (Varadaraja)
Nirguna (without attributes) form: Mahamaya as Bilakasa (Cave Space).
Kailasa, Vaikuntha, Sripuram: Decayless; Stainless; Abode of people of great religious merit.
Punyaprada Kshetra: All trees are divine; all Tirthas are Ganga; all humans are Devas; idols are all Siva-Vishnu forms; the dust of the feet of those who walk the earth here is purifying; wind is controller of sinful acts; Devas, Siddhas and Mukti-inspired Rishis shine brilliantly; everything is thus divine here.